ISO 19650

ISO 19650 accreditation is an international standard and is based on the older PAS 1192 (British standard). PAS 1192 (Publicly Available Specifications) defined the guidelines, codes of practices and standards that were  developed to fulfill the immediate needs of the building industry.

Equivalent PAS 1192 and ISO 19650 terms
Equivalent PAS 1192 and ISO 19650 terms

ISO 1950 is a series of BIM (Building Information Modeling) standards that cover from concepts and principles to security information about buildings and civil engineering works. The accreditation defines the collaborative processes and it includes 4 different documents that describe tasks. 


The ISO 19650-1 defines the concepts and principles. It contains terms and definitions, including definition of information requirements. Other information such as delivery cycle, team, asset, project, delivery planning, how to manage the collaborative production are included. ISO 1950-1 also contains CDE (Common Data Environment) solutions and workflow. 

It includes sections for both the delivery phase including Project Information Model (PIM) and the operational phase, with an Asset Information Model (AIM). 

This first document also establishes  stages of maturity of information management. 

ISO 19650 part 1 - Stages of maturity of information
ISO 19650 part 1 – Stages of maturity of information

ISO 19650 – 2 outlines the delivery phase of the assets. It includes information about the management during the delivery phase of assets and also information about the management process. The BEP (BIM Execution Plan) is also described there.

Scope of ISO 19650 document
Scope of ISO 19650 document

Legend: ​​

AIM: asset information model

PIM: project information model

A: start of delivery phase — transfer of relevant information from AIM to PIM

B: progressive development of the design intent model into the virtual construction model

C: end of delivery phase — transfer of relevant information from PIM to AIM


ISO 19650 – 3 is about the operational phase of the assets. This document gives guidelines about the Common Data Environment (CDE), BIM Execution Plan (BEP), asset information standards, production methods and procedures and the team delivery capacities and capabilities. 


ISO 19650 – 5 highlights security. It is related to the delivery and operational phase of assets when using Building Information Modeling (BIM). This document enables teams to minimise wasteful activities and increase predictability (i.e., cost and time).   


During the ISO 19650 process, the following documents are needed:

  • OIR – Organizational Information requirements 
  • PIR – Project Information Requirements
  • EIR – Exchange Information Requirements 
  • AIR – Asset Information Requirements 
  • BEP – BIM Execution Plan – You can download a free template here.  
  • RM – Responsibility Matrix
  • TIDP – Task Information Delivery Plans
  • MIDP – Master Information Delivery Plan
  • RACI – Responsible, Accountable, Consulted, Informed 


What you need to know about ISO 19650
What you need to know about ISO 19650